Tennis: David Nalbandian's incredible gesture at Queen's


David Nalbandian left the ATP officials with no choice but to disqualify him during the final at Queen's after injuring a line judge in the dramatic end to the match.

He didn't mean it and then admitted his mistake, it was an instinctive action of fury and frustration, but the fact remains: he slammed an advertising boar and the line judge's leg. The board was directly in front of the line judge's chair and Nalbandian was facing the official and was surely aware of his proximity when he unleashed the kick.

The crowd were booing and stamping, both because of his action adn because they wanted more entertainment after paying for the tickets. In fact, they started booing Chris Kermode, the tournament director, and the ground staff when bringing on the trophy.

Here's what David Nalbandian had to say at the press conference after the game: 'Yes, it was a mistake. But sometimes you get angry. It was a mistake. But look at all the rules the players have to sign up to. Too many rules. It was a mistake. But when it happens somewhere else nothing happens.'

Marin Cilic, the tournament winner, got forgotten due to all the drama. He deserved the title and, most important, didn't deserve to be booed for it. You can view the incident here http://youtu.be/vy1tBbQHzvU.

General Sportsbook News Sports Events

Login to post a comment:


 
 

Click Here to register a new account

What's going on right now!

12mins ago someone from nl flag The Netherlands read article Drury Retires from Paddy Power

Sports Community

Share this page on:
Follow LSB on:
Follow LSB

Join Now for full access

In the last 24h

Totals

  • New Members
    0
  • Members Online
    9
  • Guests
    1,063



eighteen plus only

Follow LSB on Facebook Follow LSB on Twitter Follow LSB on Pinterest Follow LSB on Google plus