Real Madrid clinch Spanish League title, Mourinho enters special Hall of Fame

Real Madrid clinched the La Liga title for the first time since 2008 after winning 3-0 win against Athletic Bilbao on Wednesday. Goals from Gonzalo Higuain, Mesut Ozil and Cristiano Ronaldo sealed the win and the 32nd league crown for Real Madrid with two games to spare.

The title is a special one for 'The Special One', Jose Mourinho. The Portuguese coach becomes the third ever to win league titles in four different countries after triumphs with Porto, Chelsea and Inter Milan.

Mourinho joins Austrian Ernst Happel, who won titles with Rapid Vienna and FC Tirol (Austria), Feyenoord (Netherlands), Brugge (Belgium) and Hamburg (Germany) and Italian veteran Giovanni Trapattoni, who won with Juventus and Inter Milan (Italy), Bayern Munich (Germany), Benfica (Portugal), Salzburg (Austria) in the elite club.

"I won the league title in Portugal, Italy and England, but this one has been the toughest," said Mourinho.

"I've won seven league titles overall and I know what it feels like. Barcelona won all their games, as befits the great team that they are. They've been winning to the very last day. They are a club with great tradition that knows we deserved to win this title", he added.

The success provides needed relief for the Real Madrid fans after their disappointing and surprising defeat by Bayern Munich in the Champions League semi-final.

General Sportsbook News

Login to post a comment:


Click Here to register a new account

What's going on right now!

4mins ago someone from gb flag United Kingdom read article Bundesliga: Bayern Munich secure third consecutive title

Sports Community

Share this page on:
Follow LSB on:
Follow LSB

Join Now for full access

In the last 24h


  • New Members
  • Members Online
  • Guests

eighteen plus only

Follow LSB on Facebook Follow LSB on Twitter Follow LSB on Pinterest Follow LSB on Google plus